Erin Lausten

Riding the Awesome

  • Topics

  • Archives

  • Like Me!

  • Twitter

  • My Goodreads

Ahh,yes… The dream

Posted by erinlausten on October 20, 2010

Words written: 26,015            Currently Reading: Changeless by Gail Carriger

I’m a dreamer. Yep, that seven letter dirty word. My dad is too. My mom used to call him a polly anna. I never knew what that meant; though I’m pretty sure it wasn’t nice. As you might have guessed, my mom isn’t a dreamer. That’s not to say she doesn’t have dreams. I think everyone has dreams. Even if it’s just a desire for a big ice cream and nothing more.

But a dreamer? Now that is an entirely different animal. A dreamer thinks differently, walks differently, and just plain does things differently. See, for a dreamer the Dream isn’t something they wish could happen, it’s something that has to happen. And if it doesn’t well, it just might kill them–Oh, did I mention dreamers are a little melodramatic?

Now while most people will think about their dream and even pursue it, they can be reasonable about it. But a dreamer, not so much. A dreamer sees what needs to happen and thinks it’s perfectly reasonable to do things no normal human would. Like quit a job. . Stop talking to friends and family. Start walking around the world (in bare feet I’m sure). They will just about fall off the face of the earth in pursuit of that Dream. And I am pretty sure that is why they have gotten such a bad rap. And it’s well deserved in my opinion, though in another part of my mind it’s admirable.

I just said I’m a dreamer, but I haven’t said anything really great about them so far. Some of that is because I am feeling the heavy pressure that hits when a dream is calling. There is nothing I want more out of life than to drop everything and run after that Dream. But I can’t.

And I’m not going to; by sheer force of will I won’t. If I were a different person, I could just drop and go, but I got a wonderful dose of my mom’s reality flowing through my veins too. But I envy those dreamers that can. We see them do it every day and they show up with Dream caught and it is a beautiful thing.

But I haven’t lost hope. Nope. See, there is a third group I haven’t mentioned. And that’s the kind of person that has a little bit of both. That’s the dreamer that by will and perseverance will make that Dream happen despite the odds and without losing that piece connected to the rest of the world. I know I am that kind of dreamer. I have to be that kind of dreamer.

or it just might kill me.

 

Leave a Reply

 
