Erin Lausten

Riding the Awesome

  • Topics

  • Archives

  • Like Me!

  • Twitter

  • My Goodreads

Helium hand, oh how I despise you

Posted by erinlausten on November 18, 2010

Words written: Still editing Currently Reading: On Writing by Stephen King

Photo by Crystl

I have a problem. I like to do things. I like to do lots of different things. And I have leadership tendencies. So when something needs to get done or an opportunity presents itself, my hand flies up. You know the Pixar movie Up where the geezer ties a billion balloons to his house and flies away? Yeh, imagine my hand is that house.

This, in general isn’t a bad thing. I love taking opportunities when they present themselves. I have had so many good things happen because I am willing to jump on the roller coaster when it is flying by. But sometimes I just have to shake my head and wonder if it is all worth it. I will just say this, the answer is yes, it is worth it. Filling up my dance card and gaining the knowledge, experience, and connections that I do when I raise my hand to help is extremely valuable.

And here is why. I may have my hands in many pots. And many of those pots are not necessarily related to my ultimate goal. (That goal being an independently successful writer in charge of her own life and time) But, what they can do is get me to a place where when I am ready to take that jump off the cliff of secure employment, I will do so having set myself up for success.

The negative aspect is that I cannot then direct 100% of my energy toward my writing. Some of the things that take time away from this include this blog, my day job,professional development, my family, friends, and extracurricular activities. But in the long run, my writing will be better from the experiences and the set up. These are the things that will finally allow my writing and lifestyle to finally meet in a way that works.

It will be a long hard road, and I suppose I am finally gaining the patience needed to understand that. There is nothing more that I want than to be able to give up the day job and the extraneous obligations, but that just isn’t feasible. So I will continue on this road and maybe I will be surprised. Maybe it will happen sooner than expected.

Until then, I will try to restrain the helium hand and not put too much on my plate in my impatience to do what I want with my life.

Leave a Reply

 
