Erin Lausten

Riding the Awesome

  • Topics

  • Archives

  • Like Me!

  • Twitter

  • My Goodreads

That’s done…Now what?

Posted by erinlausten on November 22, 2010

I finally finished my rewrites for the novella I have been working on. Hooray! Now it is in the hands of my First Readers. I have been blessed with so many supportive friends and acquaintances, it is overwhelming at times.

It is an interesting place to be, the beginning. I haven’t really done anything yet. I only have a few stories under my belt, nothing published, and certainly nothing that is really marketable–yet.

But this one is just about there. It makes me happy. But it also makes me nervous. Now I am on the verge of submitting something and ready for those rejections to start pouring in. I’m not one to think negative, so the thought of rejection is a little foreign. I always start assuming the best. Sometimes it comes across as arrogance, but I like to think of it as confidence. However, from everything I have read and heard about the business, I should expect a plethora of rejection letters. Luckily, I am ok with that. At least I expect to be.

Only time will tell. I like to dream though. So here it is: I will submit my story and they will love it. They will make an offer. Any changes they want I will do in good cheer. It will then lead to future publishing opportunities on a grander scale. I will then skyrocket in popularity and be a self supporting author who can stay at home and write for a living. Ah the dreams.

Of course, it is going to happen. Maybe not the skyrocketing, but it will happen. Over time. With persistence and perseverance. I just have to keep reminding myself of that and just keep on writing. Now. What do I want to work on next?

3 Responses to “That’s done…Now what?”

  1. William Kendall said

    Good for you!

  2. Regina said

    I love it when people have positive attitudes. Yes, things will happen in time. I don’t sit and wait for it, I try to make the most of it by writing or spending time with family. Happy Thanksgiving.

  3. Thank you both for the encouragement! It is a relief to have something off my plate, at least for a little bit!

    Regina, I took a look at your blog, it’s awesome. I love the WIP page and hope you don’t mind if commandeer the idea!

    -erin

Leave a Reply

 
