Erin Lausten

Riding the Awesome

  • Topics

  • Archives

  • Like Me!

  • Twitter

  • My Goodreads

Don’t look back!

Posted by erinlausten on December 12, 2010

Words written: 48,049 Currently Reading: Pride and Prejudice and Zombies

Oh the pain! The agony! The AAAGOOONYYY! So, I am moving right along (a bear in his natural habitat–a studebaker) on my manuscript. In fact, I am feeling really good about the amount I have written over the last week. However, and this is the big however, while the words are flying off my fingers, I feel like I am in the scene that will never die!!!

I have to keep on moving though. Because I know this is the danger zone. This is when I will start second guessing myself, feeling like everything I write is crap, and do the unthinkable (the BIG DELETE). So I am going, and going, and going, and by all that is holy I will get through this scene. Luckily, the bad guys just showed up and we have shotguns! So, I think I am near the end of the agony, on to better times (or at least ones that go bang bang).

I am having a ton of fun with this one and I have done a pretty good job of telling myself to just write and not worry too much about it. I am walking past words that could be better, sentances that don’t have that thing, and just writing the story. Good thing I have every intention of an indepth revision process. But a small piece of me is a little terrified that in the revision process I will lose that all important voice.

And the thing about voice, unlike grammar, sentance structure, etc.. it is really more feel than anything else (at least as far as it has been explained to me). As I am still discovering mine, I am particularly concerned I will strip everything that is good in my writing by revising. But then again, it takes practice to get good at anything, so we’ll see what happens. I will just remember to keep the original so that I can go back and make sure that which is good does not get lost.

That’s the plan. Now, for those of you that got the reference to Fozzy Bear at the begining of this post, you get 20 coolness points.

3 Responses to “Don’t look back!”

  1. Edrienne B said

    While I understand the Fozzy I still mostly see the pianist from Sesame Street banging his head on the piano from part of the post too.
    Just remember if the scene in continuing that’s because You didn’t Finish Saying what you need to say!!

  2. william kendall said

    Given my ongoing Muppets saga, I should get the reference, but I’m missing it.

    It’s good that you’re at a point where you’re having fun with the work in progress!

  3. William Kendall said

    That’s a hilarious clip!

    Now, how did they get to Saskatchewan?

Leave a Reply

 
