Erin Lausten

Riding the Awesome

  • Topics

  • Archives

  • Like Me!

  • Twitter

  • My Goodreads

Oh the AaaaGoooNyyy!

Posted by erinlausten on February 4, 2011

I decided to start this with a video today for one reason, and one reason only. I want you to truly understand how I am feeling right now. I’m in pain. Oh it hurts, it hurts. It…well not really, I think I may be faking it a little, but still, I am having a hell of a time getting this done.

This being the dreaded synopsis. I am sending in my first three chapters to a contest (mainly for the critique, but hey, winning would be cool too) and I need a synopsis. And that’s fine. I have to write one anyway and it helps to solidify my manuscript even more as I edit so I can really get it to its sparkly specialness.

But there is one piece that is killing me. It’s not the need to be concise, I get that. I’ve had to do that since I started writing professionally in the technical and business fields. But what’s with the present tense? It’s killing me. I’m a historical reenactor, ex-archaeologist, fantasy obsessed geek. I don’t speak in the present tense.  I don’t even live in the present tense.

Not to mention it still has to be interesting. So no listing events and bland descriptions of the characters. But how do I get it somewhere between the novel and my query letter. Right now it is sounding like a long query letter. Blah.

I know there is a way to make this work. And dangit I will beat this into submission (har-har, get the joke? yeh, it is one of those days where I think I am hil-ar-i-ous. I’m not, but I think I am, thank God I like me.)

Alright, enough whining. Time to dive back in and get this thing written. Hang in there my friends, the road may be bumpy but we’re in for a hell of a ride.

One Response to “Oh the AaaaGoooNyyy!”

  1. William Kendall said

    Ah, we can never go wrong with Bugs.

    The query letter is like a massive rock face looming in front of us all, at least that’s how it feels to me from time to time….

Leave a Reply

 
