Erin Lausten

Riding the Awesome

  • Topics

  • Archives

  • Like Me!

  • Twitter

  • My Goodreads

Let’s dig a little deeper

Posted by erinlausten on April 6, 2011

I have a friend. He is remarkably funny. Incredibly talented. And I stand next to him with a shovel because I know, inevitably he is going to need it.

We all dig ourselves into holes. Some more than others. Some are just tiny little pot holes, others invest in craters. It’s what we do. I do it. You do it. We all do it. Yeh!

And so that brings me to, as promised, the Second thing people don’t know about me. I am stubborn. (Right, shocker. What’s with me with telling you secrets that aren’t really secrets? Please refer to previous post where I point out that I have a difficult time keeping secrets). Anyway. As I was saying. Stubborn. Claws of death kind of stubborn. Gnaw my own arm off kind of stubborn. Standing in a burning inferno kind of… you get it.

Why the intense stubbornness? Well, it stems from my pride and arrogance. Something I have (as my husband likes to remind me) inordinate amounts of. It isn’t so much that I think I am always right. In fact, I am quite often wrong. But…But… when I believe I am right and I am absolutely convinced of that, well, there is practically nothing you can do to make me move my stance.

This does not usually cause too much trouble. Because more often than not, when I believe I am right, well, I am. But on occasion. (And yes, dear husband it is only occasionally) I am wrong when I am convinced I am right.

And so, I write this post to those who know I nearly died (well not really, it was only strep and a severe ear infection, but I felt like dieing, so leave it as I called it) and tell you, yes. You were right. I should have gone to the doctor much sooner and no, I was not able to just ride out the illness. So there. You were right.

But don’t worry. It won’t happen again for a really long time. I am, after all back on my game and know that when I am wrong, I am wrong and when I am right, well, you can believe me. I am right.

2 Responses to “Let’s dig a little deeper”

  1. William Kendall said

    I hope you’re feeling better now!

  2. I am feeling better, Thank you! That time of year when the crud sets in and everyone shares. But in a few weeks here it will be so hot the pathogens flee in terror. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
