Erin Lausten

Riding the Awesome

  • Topics

  • Archives

  • Like Me!

  • Twitter

  • My Goodreads

Geeks Unite

Posted by erinlausten on June 2, 2011

Conference fatigue is real. I had an absolute blast this weekend at the Phoenix Comicon, but boy am I feeling it now. The event went for four days and I only went for two and a half and I am exhausted and aching. It was perhaps the best event I’ve attended in a long while.

The best thing is the unification of interests in the geek world that is benefiting all of us. The days are gone when they limited the events to comic books or specific genres (like Star Trek, sci-fi, etc). Now you walk through the aisles running into Marvel Super Heroes, Jedis, Star Fleet Officers, Ghostbusters, Steampunk Airship Captains, ect. It is a brilliant cacophony of fantasy and fiction. People are exposed to the whole gamut of ideas and popular art and fun. I loved every minute.

I can’t even begin to describe everything I saw from a giant Stay Puff Man to working R2D2s, my mind is still whirling. And the sessions and workshops were too many to count. I was able to sit in on a few brilliant ones, and in particular I spent a wonderful Sunday morning with Michael Stackpole who taught us how to write a novel in 21 days. I learned so much and walked away with such inspiration I think I may be good for up to six months just from one weekend.

So in the spirit of geekdom and brilliant creativity I bring you a music video from The Guild. Seriously, you should check them out.

One Response to “Geeks Unite”

  1. William Kendall said

    I’ve never gone to one of those cons, oddly enough. They’ve always struck me as a lot of fun. And a geekdom thermonuclear meltdown at the same time. In a good way.

Leave a Reply

 
