Erin Lausten

Riding the Awesome

  • Topics

  • Archives

  • Like Me!

  • Twitter

  • My Goodreads

Falling into place

Posted by erinlausten on June 23, 2011

I just had a wonderful experience. I am working on book two of the Viator Legacy Series. Book One is in the hands of my wonderful readers and I hope to have it available for launch late summer. So while I wait I am hard at work on the second book. The more I write, the more I am learning how things work and the biggest surprise is seeing how some things just seem to fall into place.

I am not a big plotter. I don’t sit down and plot every step of the way or every twist in the story. I don’t just fly by the seat of my pants either. I have a general idea of what is coming next and where I need to go. But the details tend to reveal themselves over time. Most of the time I feel like I am making it up as I go along, after all I am creating a story. But sometimes a twist happens and I have no idea why or how it happened. And I wonder, will I ever figure this out? Will it work or will it take me down a road in the story that doesn’t work and I will have wasted time on something that will have to be dumped?

And that happens. Things have to be dumped. But sometimes, like today, the reason for the twist reveals itself in a perfect way. And I have no idea how it happened. I didn’t consciously decide that today I would fit this piece in. It just kind of happened. It gives me a euphoric feeling.

And it is far from unusual. I have had this same thing happen in life.  I have done things, made decisions, made contacts that only prove later to be the key to some need or opportunity. And I look back and see all the blocks that were stacked like a crazy game of Tetris and then that perfect piece is released and I get a high score.

I don’t understand it. But I won’t question it. I just go with it and love when it works.

One Response to “Falling into place”

  1. Been there, done that.

    I write the same way…and have had the same ups and downs. And yes, it’s so incredible when that happens.

    Looking forward to the finished book!

Leave a Reply

 
