Erin Lausten

Riding the Awesome

  • Topics

  • Archives

  • Like Me!

  • Twitter

  • My Goodreads

Passion and Sacrifice

Posted by erinlausten on July 27, 2011

Things have been quite on my side for a little while. At least I’ve cut back on the chatter. Unexpected, the first novel in the Viator Legacy Series is slated to be released at the end of August, so I am head down and pushing toward the finish line. In addition I am hard at work on Unforeseen, the second in the series with the hope that I can have that ready for publication by the end of the year.

As with anything like this, be it finishing your college degree, reaching the end of a large project at work, or writing a novel, the end can often feel like the most difficult part. When I was in my last semester before earning my Bachelors Degree I went through several weeks where the temptation to quit was higher than I’d ever felt. My GPA was great, not perfect, but great. I had gone through the previous years with relative ease, and honestly, there was nothing special or particularly difficult about the courses I was taking. But I was exhausted and not quite sure how to make it to the end.

My mother and father spent many a tearful hour on the phone with me (tears on my side definitely). They kept up a supportive mantra of “you’re almost there, you can do it”. They taught me to repeat that in my head over and over and over and over. And it worked.

Amazingly, if you keep your head down and just keep at it eventually you reach the finish. Because time does not stop. That was the first time I learned how to complete something big.

I’ve done it several times since then. I have a master’s degree, survived pregnancy (there aren’t really many choices about making it to the end with pregnancy, but I tell you that last month was agonizing. I even started negotiating with my son prior to birth. I promised him so many things just to come a little bit early. He was right on time. So I don’t have to keep the promises, but hey, we got to the end and I have a wonderful pre-schooler now. Imagine that.) And now I’ve written a book. Something I have dreamed of since childhood. Something I never thought would be possible. And I am in the middle of another and will write many many more.

I’m not going to lie to you. Finishing things like this doesn’t get easier. The work is the same. The sacrifice and dedication is the same. What does get easier is the ability to keep yourself going. When you know you can reach the end, you don’t worry so much about it. Except at the end, when all the old fears and frustrations take advantage of your fatigue. But like a marathon runner, you dig deep and finish. And then start the next one.

What is the key to this? Passion and determination. You can finish anything you want, but if you don’t have the drive or desire, why bother? If that is the case, look for another project. If this is what you want, put your head down, make it through the next day, and then you’ll be there.

Are you interested in knowing the minute my books are available? Send me an email at erinlaustenauthor@gmail.com and I will put you on the list. I promise not to spam you with a constant barrage of sales pitches. I’ll only send information when something new is out.
You can also keep tabs on my progress at my Facebook fan page and on Twitter.

4 Responses to “Passion and Sacrifice”

  1. This is great–and I definitely do want to know when your books are available! (You already have my email addy.)

  2. Oh, I definitely know the feeling! The end of a big project can feel so hectic, to say the least!

  3. Erin, there’s a challenge for you over at my blog, by the way…

Leave a Reply

 
