Erin Lausten

Riding the Awesome

  • Topics

  • Archives

  • Like Me!

  • Twitter

  • My Goodreads

Must Speak Fluent ‘Dude’

Posted by erinlausten on December 6, 2011

Hi All! Yes, you guessed it, it’s Hailey and I’ve been tapped to blog again. Apparently Erin can’t seem to get enough of my priceless wit and personality. Or, which is what I find more likely, she is overwhelmed with the pressures of unexpected celebrity.

Ok, I’m kidding. She’s no runaway success. Not yet.

She is, however, stressing. She swears she’s inspired, but I know better. I’ve seen that crazy look in her eye before. She’s plotting some terrible stuff for this next book and is eager to share.  This means she has created ridiculous time lines and overly ambitious expectations of herself. Granted, she delivers when she puts on the pressure, but the rest of us tend to suffer. But what can you do? She’s the boss.

Luckily, I’m riding in the sidecar for this next book, so no more pirates, Nazis or evil scientists for me.

Hold on. She’s giggling. That is so not good.

Dude, I’m rethinking the day I signed up for this. Have I told you this story yet? No, ok, get this. I was sitting around in literary limbo. You know– that place where fictional characters chill until one of the muses smacks an author upside the head and creates inspiration. All the good characters get picked up quick, so by the time we get into a good game or conversation they get whisked off to the great paperback in the sky.   This left me with some of the less creative figments of imagination. Let’s just say I was getting sick of playing Gin Rummy with serial killers, weepy teens, and narcissistic heroes.

Then it happened.  I was wasting some time checking out the character classifieds. And there it was. Erin Lausten was looking for a kick butt heroine with a sense of adventure, a strong personality, and an ability to adapt to whatever got slung at her. I always wanted to be a protagonist and I figured an adventure romance was just the thing for me. And even better, there would be no vampires. I can’t handle needles.  I sure as heck can’t deal with a dude with two hypodermics sticking out of his mouth. I had turned down a ton of positions (ok, maybe not a ton, but a few. I’m not a total loser) because they had vamps in them.

The only stipulation was ‘must speak fluent dude’.

Ok, I know. What does that mean? Well turns out, Erin spent some time in Southern California. Some time being her formative adolescent years. She had what the world likes to affectionately call a Valley Girl accent. Except, it wasn’t totally. She was a far cry from the high-pitched atrocity seen in the movie Clueless. Hers was a little closer to what was seen in Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure.

Anyway, she wanted someone who spoke the language of her youth. But not the “Oh my god, she was like, totally for real” aspect of the accent. She wanted someone who understood the appropriate use of the word “Dude”.  Remember these?

Dude.  Anyway, I had some experience. I once read lines with a few aspiring B-movie characters hoping to break into the pot movies of the late 90’s. So I went in for the interview.

I was a little unsure what to expect. But she looked normal enough and we got along pretty good from the start. She’s your garden variety lady. Easy smile, smart eyes. A little pudgy around the middle, but hey, I’m not one to judge. I expect I’d gain a few over the years, if I weren’t a fictional character. Anyway. She asked if I wanted a chance at being a star and handed me the contract. What can I say, it seemed like a good idea at the time.

Next thing I know, she’s coming up with “ideas”.  And the rest… well let’s just say it was a bit Unexpected.

(Like how I did that? Yeh, I think Erin will like it too. Well time to go! Catch you all soon! And if you haven’t read my book, you know the one where I’m the star, what are you waiting for?)

Join Hailey and Derian in a fast paced adventure in time against forces no one expected. In fact, it was all quite Unexpected. Now on Amazon , Barnes & Noble, Apple, and Smashwords!

Are you interested in knowing the minute my books are available? Send me an email at erinlaustenauthor@gmail.com and I will put you on the list. I promise not to spam you with a constant barrage of sales pitches. I’ll only send information when something new is out.
You can also keep tabs on my progress at my Facebook fanpage and on Twitter.

2 Responses to “Must Speak Fluent ‘Dude’”

  1. Kaitlin said

    Ha! Very cute! I’m afraid to do anything from my character’s point of view, she’d probably hurt me! She certainly could.

  2. Hailey, what you’ve got to do is dig up some blackmail on your author. Something you can use to counter that crazy look in her eyes!

Leave a Reply

 
