Erin Lausten

Riding the Awesome

  • Topics

  • Archives

  • Like Me!

  • Twitter

  • My Goodreads

Working hard or hardly working?

Posted by erinlausten on February 8, 2012

Looking in from the outside, it would seem things have been quiet around here. How I wish that were true. But let me present you an image. You’re hiking up that mountain. You start out strong and enthusiastic, chatting with your friends, excited about reaching the top. It’s a great time to be alive. After a while your legs start to hurt and you feel a sweat develop. But it’s good, you see the top of a rise and know you will reach it if you push just a little more. Take a deep breath; you made it to the first stop. And you’re still chatting away. You take a quick rest then set out again. It goes on like this for several hours and you keep reaching the top of those rises. All those tiny accomplishments start to add up, so you know you’re getting somewhere.

And then you get near the top. Your body hates you. Your mind starts to wander. You stop talking as much. Occasionally you check on your friends, and you all give the thumbs up. You’re almost there.

And then you reach that point where your brain just kind of shuts off, your body goes into auto-drive, and all you can hear is a voice in your head going “To the top, to the top. Got to get to the top.”

Yep. That’s what it’s been like lately. So don’t judge the progress by the amount of noise you hear. Sometimes it has to get quiet before you reach the top.

So what does that mean? Well, for me it means I am putting the finishing touches on the first draft of Unforeseen, Book Two of the Viator series. Then I’m off to work on the next two stories in the MacHurdyGurdy Traveling Show series. There’s a lot on my plate, but the outcome is going to be spectacular. Why the push? Ultimately, I am heading toward a showing at the Phoenix Comicon this May. I am excited to be bringing out a number of these stories in print format, so I am plugging away to have everything ready in time. This means I may be quiet for a little while longer, but hey, the end should be a bang, so bear with me!

So, here I am, putting my head down to write more and get those stories out for everyone to enjoy. Cheers! And see you at the top!

4 Responses to “Working hard or hardly working?”

  1. Terrific imagery, Erin! And I’m enjoying reading book one!

  2. Working hard or hardly working…that was one of my mother’s favorite lines.

    For some reason, for a while there I was not getting notifications when you made new posts. It looks like I have a lot of catching up to do.

    I loved Unexpected. Looking forward to Unforseen!

  3. Jaxzie said

    I bought Unexpected @ Phoenix Comicon and the first of the MacHurdyGurdy traveling show books OMG I can’t wait to get my hands on the next installments of both! How do I find out when they’re available & where I can buy them?

    Jaxzie

    • Jaxzie–

      I am so glad you enjoyed them! Comicon was a real blast and I can’t wait until next year! Unforeseen is the next book in the Viator Leagacy Series, following the story of Grace and Lucius (though we get to see several of our old friends from Unexpected!). My intention is to have this available mid-septmeber. I will be announcing its release on this blog, facebook, and twitter. And it will be available through Amazon, Smashwords, Barnes&Noble, etc. I will have links here to where they can be purchased. If you will be looking for print, that will be available through Amazon.
      As for the Cibola series, the next book is Cibola’s Revenge and continues the story from where it left off. I am having a blast writing this one and hope to have it out by the beginning of 2013. It will definitely be done by next PHX Comicon!

      Thank you so much for the wonderful comment!

      Erin

Leave a Reply

 
