Erin Lausten

Riding the Awesome

  • Topics

  • Archives

  • Like Me!

  • Twitter

  • My Goodreads

The Road to Phoenix Comicon

Posted by erinlausten on May 10, 2012

Three years ago I began a journey with a band of friends. I had just discovered steampunk and was active in a belly dancing troupe called Shahrinz. The troupe is still counted as my greatest friends, and my interest in steampunk has only grown. At that time, a wonderful opportunity fell into our laps. The Phoenix Comicon was looking for performers and we jumped at the chance. We decided to fling ourselves into the steampunk fray and performed with that in mind. Since then, the troupe has put together a number of shows with steampunk flavor, and I have begun writing stories about a Wild West that is a little bit strange and a lot of fun.

And so, we come to this year. I will be at Comicon once again, but this time, I will have a table with my new steampunk story Cibola’s Promise. I am extremely excited about this story. Its inspiration taps into so many parts of my life. From the beautiful troupe that helped develop the characters and their intricacies, to my life in the American West and love for history, it has been a true adventure in writing.

The Phoenix Comicon has been an excellent event for each of the years I have attended, and I know this year will be no different! The organizers know how to put together an amazing experience, and if you have the chance, I highly recommend a trip. With everything from Science Fiction, Fantasy, comic books, gaming, and novels, it is a pop-culture dream. And so I hope to see you there!

I will have print versions of both the new Steampunk book Cibola’s Promise as well as the first novel in the Viator Legacy Series, Unexpected. This will be the premier for Cibola’s Promise, so do not fret, I will have it available in E-book shortly, and both will be available through Amazon in print. If you make it to the event, I will be in Artist Alley at table 342!

And to you all, may your life be an adventure and full of surprises!

Erin Lausten

One Response to “The Road to Phoenix Comicon”

  1. I’ve never been to a comicon, though I should be doing that sort of thing. It sounds like it’s the ideal venue for steampunk, and particularly for your genre. Have fun with it!

Leave a Reply

 
