Erin Lausten

Riding the Awesome

  • Topics

  • Archives

  • Like Me!

  • Twitter

  • My Goodreads

Another Phoenix Comicon Wrap Up

Posted by erinlausten on May 30, 2012

Picture by phxcc

Wow. Can I just say Wow? What an experience!

I arrived at the Phoenix Comicon on Thursday, May 24th, and really, I had no idea what to expect. Well, that is not entirely true; this was my third year at Phoenix Comicon. The first two years I performed with a dance troupe at the Steampunk Ball, and then just enjoyed the rest of the con like anyone else. But this year was my first sitting behind a table.

And it was way worth it. I got more out of the first two hours on site then I ever expected, and it didn’t stop for the entire ride!

Thursday was the preview night, so many of the vendors were still getting settled as the early birds shuffled into the room.  I got to meet my neighbors, including James Barnett. I had a blast sitting next to James. His art work was phenomenal, and his attitude was even better.  Then, to my delight, Lizzy Ford was set up right in front of me. What a fabulous surprise. I’ve been following Lizzy’s work online for some time, and I had no idea she was an Arizonan. It was great just to have someone else going through the same thing I was, new to the Con and excited about meeting new readers. I can tell you, a nicer writer you just won’t meet! And her books rock too, so Bonus!

By the end of Thursday I was already grinning like an idiot, just happy to see my spanking new poster-sized pic of Cibola’s Promise up on the wall and my books lying out all pretty. I can’t remember if I sold any books that first night, everything is now all a blur.

Friday came fast, since we didn’t sleep great, and the excitement was starting to get to me, but we were there, and the crowds started to come. It was awesome having a front row seat to all the insane costumes and happy people running around the con. Where else can you see an Elvis Darth Vader? And the steampunkers were out in full force, which made me extra happy. I caught up with my old friends with Mantecoza and the awesome Lords and Ladies working the booth for the Society for Creative Anachronism. And by the end of the day, I had sold 6 books. SIX books. I was ecstatic! I went home exhausted, but grinning like crazy, and I knew I still had two more days.

And Saturday happened. Goodness help me, Saturday happened. Things just took off like a hailstorm. The aisle filled, people started stopping by and soon enough I lost count of how many books had walked away. I was pleasantly surprised to discover that men and women both were drawn to my table. I learned to talk about my work, and discovered more often than not I was helping to educate the public on what Steampunk really is. I had no idea it would be so fun, and those conversations were some of the best. It is an experience I won’t soon forget. And as the hours passed I started to get nervous, looking down to see if I would have enough books for one more day. By the end of the day, I had sold more than half of my stock. I should be good… Only one more day after-all.

And Sunday was as awesome as the rest. Conference fatigue was setting in, but my smile never left. Can you really get tired of the awesomeness? And then we got to the last hour, and I walked up to the table after a break, just in time to see the last of Cibola’s Promise taken from the table. That’s right. I sold out. I cannot begin to explain how amazing that was! Then I looked over at Unexpected. And there were only 4 left! I didn’t even expect to sell any of those! I mean, I wasn’t sure it would be the right book for this crowd. Boy was I wrong. I love being wrong!

And then it was over! My Comicon Table experiment was a resounding success. I had a blast with awesome friends and family that came to help me out (something I can never repay). I got to see things you just don’t see anywhere. And I walked home with Brent Spiner’s autograph.

Yeh. It was a pretty awesome weekend.

And with all the awesomeness, I have not been able to format Cibola’s Promise for Ebook. But I am on top of that, so you will find it online in the next couple of weeks. It will be a wild summer. Unforeseen, Book Two of the Viator Legacy Series, will be released by August, and I will be working hard on a few more projects that will hopefully be in your hands by the end of the year. Hang in there, we are in for a crazy ride! 

2 Responses to “Another Phoenix Comicon Wrap Up”

  1. It sounds like you had a whole lot of fun, Erin!

  2. Kelly Valencia said

    Working with you at your table make my first Comicon an amazing experience. I can’t wait to do it again!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

 
