Erin Lausten

Riding the Awesome

  • Topics

  • Archives

  • Like Me!

  • Twitter

  • My Goodreads

Wild Wild West Steampunk Con 2014 Wrap Up!

Posted by erinlausten on March 14, 2014

Imagine my excitement when the opportunity to attend the Wild Wild West Steampunk Convention appeared just as I finished Cibola’s Revenge. Wow, this conference was tailor made for this series! Set in the Arizona Desert at Old Tucson Studios, this conference delivered on every promise. For three days we were immersed in the Victorian west, surrounded by Steampunks and Cowboys. Be still my heart, it was fabulous!

If you ever have a chance to visit the studios, it is a brilliant trip any time of year. You get a taste of the old west and a whole lot of movie history. Tucson, itself, is one of my favorite towns, full of character and gorgeous landscape. As you come over Gates Pass you see the full expanse of a forest of saguaros, something you won’t see the like of anywhere in the world!

The energy of the conference was catching, as we spent time in the old barn, hanging with various merchants of Steampunk gadgets, gizmos, and gowns. If you like to add a little fantasy and science fiction to your history, this is the genre for you.

Professor Elemental was the king of the crowd, performing, recording, and being an all-around gracious gentleman. I can’t say enough about how awesome he was to the guests. My favorite part—his super hero pose is a pugilist with a sassy grin. What a great ambassador for Steampunk! If you haven’t seen his work, I highly recommend Cup of Brown Joy.

The best part was the time I got to spend with people I have come to know and love in the scene. I was able to catch up with a great friend and talented artist Jenn Hopkins. I can’t say enough about how amazing this woman is. Her art ranges from paintings, to computers, to photography, to… seriously, she does it all. I look forward to watching her take over the world with her art!
Mantecoza was out in full form as well. And I am extremely excited to hear we are likely to see something by Fall of this much anticipated film! CAN’T WAIT!

I got to meet a bunch of new talents as well. I was very excited to be included on a panel of authors. Eddie Louise was gorgeous and gracious. She spent years across the pond in Scotland, but can I say, we happy to have her back with us in the States! I look forward to seeing her books as they make their way to the U.S.!

And the highlight to my con, was a total geek fan moment. Lindsay Buroker was also on the panel. I got to sit on the panel with LINDSAY BUROKER! I love this woman. Her Flash Gold novellas are some of my favorite works. I love adventure. I love strong women. I love fantasy. She has it all! And I got to sit on a panel with her. Yes, I did a happy dance. I’m still doing a happy dance. I have so much respect for her and her work. And she is just as sweet and beautiful as her blog suggests.

All and all, by the time I left Wild Wild West Steampunk Con, my head was spinning. I even sold some books. It was brilliant! I am already excited for next year!

One Response to “Wild Wild West Steampunk Con 2014 Wrap Up!”

  1. It sounds like you enjoyed yourself!

Leave a Reply

 
